Raila to Address The Public on His Presidential Candidature on December 9 - hivipundetv.com

Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party leader Raila Odinga is set to officially declare his bid for the presidency on December 9, 2021.

While making political inroads in Nairobi’s Kariobangi, Mathare and Ruaka estates yesterday, Odinga said he will also give Kenyans, an opportunity to decide on who should be his deputy for the State House job.

“Mwezi ujao, tarehe tisa, December, mimi nitantangaza. Bado naangalia majeshi wangu kama wamejiandaa vilivyo, kama wako na bunduki na risasi,” said Odinga.

After landing into the country from the Middle East, Odinga has embarked on a campaign trail, crisscrossing the country to persuade Kenyans to back his presidency, even though he is yet to make the move public.

He reiterated his social welfare fund program where every poor household would be entitled to Ksh6,000 should he succeed President Uhuru Kenyatta.

“Hiyo sio mzaha, hiyo ni ahadi, ahadi ni nini?…wale wengine wanatangatanga wanasema ati hiyo ni porojo ati pesa hakuna,” said Odinga.

Former Nairobi gubernatorial aspirant Peter Kenneth who also spoke during the rallies, asked Kenyans to choose wisely on who would succeed President Kenyatta.


He said Central Kenya, a region believed to be a great determiner of the presidential election outcomes, was ready for Tinga (Raila) to lead the country.

“Mt. Kenya wanataka Tinga na sio wheelbarrow. Ni wheelbarrow itapanda mlima kwa haraka ama tinga?” Kenneth posed.

Deputy President William Ruto has been using a wheelbarrow as a symbol of the campaign to imply struggling Kenyans who use the tool to earn a living, saying they must be included in the discussions of the Country’s economy.

The much awaited announcement will mark Odinga’s fifth shot at the most powerful office in the country.

He has unsuccessfully contested for the seat since the year 1997 when the late Daniel Moi was still at the helm, 2007, 2013, and 2017.

Other leaders who have also declared interest in the seat include Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper), Musalia Mudavadi (ANC), Moses Wetangula(FORD-Kenya), and Gideon Moi (KANU).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *